Why are things so hard to say in person? Why is it easier to deliver bad news or ask an awkward question via one of the many (many) ways we have to communicate that aren't face to face. I ask only because my roommates are feuding via written notes, which makes me vaguely feel like I'm back in the fifth grade again. Not that I blame them, I am the worst at avoiding asking/saying uncomfortable things in person or even over the phone.
It's just funny because it's soo easy now to find another way to communicate that I wonder if that is only making the situation of people not being able ot communicate face to face harder.
Sometimes I do think it's easier (as middle school as it seems) to get everything good out in a letter. It gives you time to put down exactly what you want to say without risk of being interrupted and I do strongly believe that sometimes when you put things down on paper it just makes you feel better. It's a coping method I stand strongly behind.
But seriously think about all the ways you could not fight face to face with your roommate: You could take mind and write notes. There's facebook, twitter, myspace, email, text and all the while they are managing to maintain this very friendly demeanor to one another, is it healthy holding that in? I can tell you it's uncomfortable for those of us who know that they are fighting but aren't actually fighting.
As my brother-in-law would say "a-w-k-ward radio." Yeah awkward. Also that's awkward if you don't know my bil and haven't heard the tone he uses to say it. Nonetheless I have a pro to this whole not fighting in public thing. They really are getting to say the things that they aren't bale to say when they are screaming at each other - because they tried that this weekend and it was mostly just a lot of underhanded comments and shouting of swear words, where is that getting anyone.
Mostly, I'm just hoping to avoid world war three in my apartment because really I do like having an extra person to pay bills with. This is me, remember? Not able to live a totally grown up life. Roomies forever, I guess I should just get used to it.
Monday, January 11, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment